1. Raoul Wallenberg “Hero in Our Time” Award.
  2. Distinguished Service Award, Holocaust Studies Center.
  3. Hall of Fame Award, B’nai B’rith District Three.
  4. Humanitarian Award, Federation of Jewish Men’s Clubs.
  5. The Israel Unity Award, State of Israel Bonds.
  6. Absorption Award, State of Israel Bonds.
  7. Special Commendation for Courage and Dedication in the Pursuit of Justice, World Jewish Congress.
  8. Man of the Year, Temple Rodef Shalom (Philadelphia).
  9. U.S. Department of Justice, Senior Executive Service Meritorious Achievement.
  10. Humanitarian Award, Emunah Women of America.
  11. Man of the Year, Warsaw Ghetto Resistance Organization.
  12. U.S. Department of Justice, Senior Executive Service Special Achievement Award.
  13. Humanitarian Award, Holocaust Memorial Committee.
  14. Benjamin Cardozo Award, Anti-Defamation League, B’nai B’rith.
  15. Man of the Year, Shomrim Society.
  16. Community Activities Award, Jewish War Veterans, Kings County.
  17. Man of the Year, Council of Jewish Organizations in Civil Service.
  18. Distinguished Service Award, Survivors of the Riga Ghetto
  19. Special Commendation for Pursuit of Justice, Yad Vashem

In addition, under Sher’s leadership, OSI received the Founders Award of the American Immigration Lawyers Association.